San Juan SWCD was incorporated on October 24th, 1941. It is one of 47 conservation districts in New Mexico. The District covers half of San Juan County, the westernmost edge of Rio Arriba County, and the northwest corner of Sandoval County. It includes some Navajo Nation chapters and a section of the Ute Mountain Ute Reservation. San Juan SWCD is bordered on the west by various Navajo Nation chapters and by the Navajo Agricultural Products Industry (NAPI), on the east by the Jicarilla Apache Reservation, on the south by McKinley SWCD, and on the north by the Colorado state line. The District includes large sections of the San Juan, Animas, and La Plata rivers, as well as the New Mexico portion of Navajo Lake. San Juan SWCD works with numerous partners on both private and public lands to ensure that resource conservation is a priority in Northwest New Mexico.

San Juan SWCD is visible in the top lefthand corner.

San Juan SWCD boundary.